Skip to content

can we be mermaids when we grow up?

February 6, 2009

Working 40 + hours a week is hard, and I don’t mean enjoyably hard like vodka, or diamonds, or Chuck Norris’ bicep, or the thing that she was talking about when she said “                 .”  Not hard like how I slept last night, no what I’m talking about is hard like middle school cross-country, or when my overly long turquoise earring got lodged in my eye socket, or rubbing your belly and patting your head at the same time, or Scrabble, or listening to styrofoam being rubbed together, or crying.   

Not hard like falling in love or breaking up, but hard like getting back together on a Sunday just because it’s the easiest thing you haven’t tried, that kind of hard.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kent McMIllan permalink
    February 6, 2009 7:08 am

    Working 40 + hours a week is hard, and I don’t mean enjoyably hard …

    You have my deepest sympathy. Seriously. Introverted types need plenty of time to recharge themselves and I’m sure that the demands of dealing with people in the office situation aren’t conducive to it.

    I think of introverted intuitives as people who are congenitally opposed to life on a schedule. That is certainly my own aversion. The trick, such as it is, is figuring out how to make a living in a world full of people who ardently believe in schedules and lists. Until that happens, being able to feign an interest in those preoccupations of others can be a useful skill.

  2. February 6, 2009 8:09 pm

    I love your writing.

    And i agree with this post. But getting fired is hard too. But compared to working 40+ hours a week, enjoyably hard. Like vodka. Or at least Jack Daniels.

Leave a Reply

