Skip to content

The window doesn’t see. It’s you who sees through it.

March 31, 2009

We had to do this exercise at this volunteer thing I’m doing where you talk to the person next to you and continue breathing at the same time.  Sounds easy?  Not easy.  It kind of reminded me of the time I was in a commercial for my former employer, a restaurant in Bellingham, and we were supposed to pretend to be eating salad at a table, and as soon as the camera started rolling it was like we had all completely forgotten how to eat.  Like we had literally never in our lives seen a fork, held one, or used it to stab a romaine heart.  Talking and breathing is like this.  We were told to tell our partner anything that was on our mind so I start talking about looking for a job, and how stressful it is etc., and the leader of this exercise comes over and kneels down next to me and is like, “You need to stop and exhale.” And I’m like, “When?  I’m too busy to exhale.  I’m talking,” and I think this was kind of the point, and she went on to say that the western culture (of course) is to blame because it teaches us to be competitive about everything, but I think the real problem was that when we are being watched we go insane.  

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kent McMIllan permalink
    March 31, 2009 5:53 am

    I’m wrestling with deciding whether to mention that this post has a manic quality that seems a bit different than your usual. I certainly don’t want to make a comment that will come across as insulting, but think that maybe I ought to mention this.

    I mean, talking and breathing just isn’t like a solo debut at Carnegie Hall, right? No, I don’t think so either. So where is the pressure?

Leave a Reply

