Skip to content

You need to be in that zone where you’re four feet from the person with the yes and the no.

March 30, 2010

I was walking home talking to my dad on the phone.  He told me that the novel is dead.  He had read that somewhere, not in a novel.  I didn’t know what that meant except that I had noticed the popularity of memoirs, which I mentioned, and he replied that yes those were in the top three, but that there was some other form, a hybrid of some sort that was the true heir.  “Oh like a memwessay?”  I asked because it was the only thing I could think of and we both laughed, because it was funny, and I stared into a shop on the corner of Pierce and Waller that I look at all the time, but never go into, because of my pending unemployment or maybe just because of my pending entrance into that shop.

My dad had what might be a good idea for getting paid to do some writing, which was to make a portfolio and shop it around to businesses where they pay writers to write.  A lot of people want writing, but hardly any of them seem willing or able to pay for it.  I have no problem working for free except that I get hungry after awhile.

Whenever I tell people I want to be a writer they usually say something like, “Well a lot of people think they can write,” which is kind of a rude thing to say.  I don’t tell them that a lot of people think they can oversee marketing at a large scratching post company.  Of course not a lot of people probably think they can do that, or maybe they do.  You’d be surprised how much people think they can do if they put their minds to it.

The lack of resistance is its own weight.  They always told you you could do anything, but ambition can’t exist without resistance.  When everyone expects everyone to succeed, failure is the contrarian’s only revenge.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kent McMillan permalink
    April 4, 2010 6:12 am

    The entire post was more than worth the price of admission, but it felt like stealing to read:

    The lack of resistance is its own weight. They always told you you could do anything, but ambition can’t exist without resistance. When everyone expects everyone to succeed, failure is the contrarian’s only revenge.

    With any luck, I’ll forget where I read that and it will come to me out of the blue when I can use it.

Leave a Reply

