Skip to content

i was sleepy and thought about ducking in for a quick nap before I woke up.

April 20, 2010

Have you ever noticed how when you’re unemployed things just take longer? I mean, things like waking up, that I used to be able to easily complete before work take forever now.  I thought I would have so much extra time to really figure out what kind of hobbies I might be interested in, or to write a memoir, but it’s like how can I do that if breakfast is an all-day affair?  I’ll start out with a little Raisin Bran, and before I know it I’m eating another bowl of Raisin Bran, and then I have a piece of toast or else I just think about having one for like an hour.

Don’t even get me started on getting dressed, like literally don’t get me started, it’s impossible.  I’ve always kind of thought that robes were pretty sexy in a kind of highbrow literary way, and now I know for sure that they’re not, but they’re so comfortable it’s like who cares?  I mean it’s a towel with sleeves that you wrap around yourself and then belt with another piece of towel.  There aren’t really a lot of things like that, and I do feel lucky that I get spend so much time in mine, but then all of a sudden I need to go outside for a nap in the park or something, and I can’t because I’m only wearing this damn robe.  I used to be completely clothed everyday before 10 a.m. Imagine.  But I had so much more time then.  I really should have written a memoir.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:18 pm

    +1

  2. Zach permalink
    April 20, 2010 11:03 pm

    I get through my Tivo a lot quicker unemployed. I’ve also watched seasons of shows online in a matter of days. Some things do go much quicker when you’re not working. I missed a lot of days for a while, by the time I was ready to do things the sun was already on it’s way down. That’s gotten better since daylight savings time kicked in again.

  3. April 22, 2010 6:21 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Ever since I fell under the category of “under-employed,” I look at my Google calendar most mornings and fill my days with events of nonsense. For example, I’ll take a look at the Johnny FunCheap, Thrillist, Urban Daddy, SF Station, 7×7, City Dish newsletters I’m subscribed to and note the literary/art/cultural/culinary events happening in and around town. I’ll happily mark my calendar so that I know when, where, and what to attend each day – thinking, “Yes, something to do today so I don’t feel like a worthless, unproductive pile of sh*t.”

    But then again, don’t be too hard on yourself. Your most insightful musings probably stem from those days when you’re feeling frustrated about not working and creating ways to pass the time. Enjoy it while it lasts, they say. But then again, what do they know? They are enjoying their consistent income and not succumbing themselves to five breakfasts before noon.

    Main point: I feel ya.

Leave a Reply

