Skip to content

tonight we’re gonna party like it’s monday

June 1, 2010

Tuesday Morning 1 a.m. –

So there I was sleeping.  My bedroom is on the street, which is not as literal as it sounds, but does mean that my large windows face the street, and across the street is another apartment building, and I’m sure you’re now getting a picture of what this looks like: San Francisco.  So there I was fast asleep when I woke up to the pulsing beat of what is that?  Madonna?  It’s like so loud that it’s not even funny, and I know that because I wasn’t laughing.  So I lay there for a minute like what is that sound?  Is that a car alarm, as though maybe while I was asleep people have begun programming their car alarms like they are ringtones.  I get out of bed finally, after laying there for five minutes, weighing the pros and cons of standing up vs. death to neighbors or self.  I peek through the blinds, and lo and behold it is the LOUD NEIGHBORS.  I am looking directly into what can only be described as College Graduates Move Out of First Apartment and Come Back at 1 a.m. on the 31st to Clean It!  There must have been 8 people in the furniture-less living room like swinging cleaning rags around their heads, and dancing DANCING to like the Kid Cudi, Conan O’Brien remix of Empire State of Mind.  Not only were the windows wide open allowing these sounds to blare out into the misty night, but and this is what really got me, they kept changing the song, like, “I’m not sure if I want to sweep to this version of Poker Face, let’s try something else.”   This went on for the next hour or so.  Song, New Song, Rihanna, Swing a Towel Around My Head, etc.  I contemplated calling the police, but thought they probably had other stuff going on, and wished there was some like law enforcement middle man, a step above a civilian a step below an officer.  Kind of like a metermaid only for noise, “I’m sorry you can only play that song during business hours.  Thank you and good night.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 8:34 pm

    I felt the same way about Carnival on Saturday. I think perhaps San Francisco’s party persona is a wearing thin.

Leave a Reply

