Skip to content

you are so silly and lovely it’s stupid.

January 25, 2009

“Don’t you wish you could think just one profound thought?”

“I feel like I think profound things all the time.”

“That might be more of an attitude problem.”

How is it that I always get involved with guys who are obsessed with music?  I mean, I like the stuff as much as the next person, but to be honest I don’t know how to talk about it.  They invariably want more from me than I can give, and I invariably get tired of trying to figure out, “my five favorite bands of all time.”

Honestly, I hate that question.  Mostly, because I always end up looking like a moron when I don’t have a ready answer straight off my facebook page. 

I went to see Ziggy Stardust this movie at the Red Vic, a documentary of David Bowie’s last show as Ziggy, and I went into it with this kind of intense dislike for Bowie based almost entirely on the horror that is The Labyrinth, but I came out pleasantly surprised at how lovely he seemed as a person and a performer.  He just seemed like a really nice guy.  I guess I’m not the only person who feels that way, because you seriously should have seen these girls in the audience at his show.  They were out of their minds.  But, it was the opposite of a mob mentality; these girls were collapsing inwards.  I mean they looked like they were being exorcised they’re eyes rolling back in their heads and they’re mouths agape, and all I could think was that I couldn’t remember the last time I had felt like that about anything, and how teenage girls are so good at that type of thing: total surrender to emotion.

But I’ve never found that that works out too well in the real world.  It’s important to keep your inner monologue up and running and try to never be too honest about your feelings.  I didn’t use to feel this way, but circumstance has forced me to become a little more cynical.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 4:33 am

    Well there is literally nothing happening on this end, not a peep, no light, nothing…
    so thanks.

  2. Kent McMIllan permalink
    January 26, 2009 2:45 pm

    You know, INFJ and INFP are really more a shorthand description of a person who is an introvert and who has lots of reactions to the world around them grounded in personal values. Take the music criticism, for example. I get the idea that it was important for you to decide whether or not you like David Bowie as a part of forming an opinion about his music.

Leave a Reply

