Skip to content

the dumbest fight I was ever in

December 9, 2008

It was Jenny’s second shower that started it all.  Earlier in the day Chloe and I had been hanging out in Duboce Park with Jacqueline’s sister Jenny.  Jenny informed us that that morning she had gone for a long run and then taken a shower before she met up with us.  It was noon.  After hanging out for a while in the sun, Jenny left to go run errands and Chloe and I did whatever for the rest of the day.  We went to the gym around six, and it was on our walk home that the trouble began.  A few blocks from our house Chloe got a call from Jenny.  Chloe told me that Jenny had confirmed that she was going to meet us for drinks around eight but that she had to take a shower first, this struck me as a little odd, since she had already taken a shower earlier that day.

“That’s a little weird.  Two showers in one day.”

“I dunno, not really.”

“Well, it is a little weird. I mean it’s not like she worked-out in between.  She had already taken a shower after her run.”

“I don’t really care if she wants to take two showers.”

“You don’t have to care. It’s just that you hear something, and you must have some thought in your head about whether that is normal or not.”

“I guess I just don’t think it’s that weird.”

“I don’t mean it’s that weird.  I’m not suggesting that she’s a bad person or that we should have an intervention.  It’s just a little strange is all.”

“I don’t think so.”

“Okay, what if I took six showers in one day. How would that make you feel? Wouldn’t you want to say, ‘hey Ramona that’s a lot of showers.’”

“I really don’t CARE how many showers you or Jenny takes.”

At this point we were both literally screaming at each other on the sidewalk.  I mean full on screaming.  At one point Chloe started bellowing at the top of her lungs, “JUST SHUT UP.  SHUT UP! SHUT UP!” and I was thisclose to turning to the poor man behind us who was carrying his groceries home and saying, “DON’T YOU THINK IT’S A LITTLE STRANGE TO TAKE TWO SHOWERS IN ONE DAY?”

We got home and sulked in our rooms for about an hour, before re-emerging with a kind of psychic understanding that we should never bring this up again, as it was clearly a touchy subject.  But why?  I’m convinced that this fight goes to the core of the essential difference between Chloe and me, but as to what that difference is I couldn’t say.  Some possibilities are that A. I’m insane B. I am insane and averse to people with good hygiene C. Chloe is insane (I like this one) D. I care a lot more about people’s grooming habits than Chloe E. Chloe doesn’t care about water conservation. 

You have 30 minutes to complete this portion of the exam. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

