Skip to content

the end of the unemployment period

July 7, 2010

Today I started my new position at Wired magazine, which I am excited and happy about.  Now, I must look fondly back on my 2 month period of unemployment.  Although in reality it wasn’t what I thought it might have been.  Turns out it is difficult to write a book.

The very tricky thing about working and not working is that when you have a job you have money but no time and when you don’t have a job you have time but no money.  So the time when you could have gone somewhere you can’t, and the time when you couldn’t have gone somewhere you can.  This of course is not a good argument for why you couldn’t write a book during an unemployment period.  But the last two months were not generally a good argument for joblessness in any sense.

I spent what seemed like most of my time sitting in bed staring out my window.  I have this great room in the Lower Haight, and I could look out to Twin Peaks, and watch the weather change, which was comforting in the regular immutable sense.  I was reading a lot of Bukowski and kept wanting to take up drinking more seriously, perhaps in a graduate program or on the dusty road to Baja.

Sometimes, I would get excited and read O magazine, which I was also reading a lot of because basically the whole theme of this publication seems to be inspiration.  O said I should make a vision board so that my dreams would come true (because you need to be subconsciously reminded that you want to go to Africa so that when someone invites to pay for you to go to Africa you will do it, because you already know it’s your dream).

I ended up thinking a lot about making the board, but I don’t like clutter so I didn’t.  And now I’m at Wired so to hell with the vision board, and Bukowski for that matter.  I need my wits about me.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cécile permalink
    July 7, 2010 4:05 am

    Congrats on your job at Wired. It’s a great mag.

  2. July 7, 2010 9:14 am

    Congratulations on the position Ramona! Wired is pretty much my favorite magazine…I have strewn about my living room and read the site every day.

    I’m very happy for you!

  3. July 7, 2010 5:48 pm

    Congratulations on Wired, but please don’t leave Bukowski in the wake of your success.

  4. July 8, 2010 5:27 pm

    This post made me realize that last night I dreamed that I saw Oprah on the street in NYC and she was a lot skinnier than I had imagined.

    This is to say: good luck at Wired!! See you next week.

  5. July 9, 2010 10:47 pm

    vision board be damned mona.
    ”grab the world by the lapels’
    and don’t stop running

  6. July 12, 2010 10:19 pm

    Your comment about the money-time paradox reminded me of the old 60s poster of the Fabulous Furry Freak Brothers, drawn by Gilbert Shelton, opining “Dope can get you through times of no money better than money can get you through times of no dope.”

Leave a Reply

